Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,


rv apps

After three years of struggling with very basic cell phone technology, the husband and I finally decided to step into the real world and get our hands on the new Iphones that just came out.

Mr B’s favorite feature is ‘Siri’ – his very own ‘girl friday’. He’s told me how wonderful she is: ‘she knows everything,’ he says, ‘talks to me anytime I want, but if I’m not in the mood to talk, she doesn’t say a word…..and she can tell you how to get absolutely anywhere!’ Yeah, yeah, yeah….

Am I worried? Not yet – and I won’t be until I start to see him sleep with his phone under his pillow.

My favorite feature is, hands down, the fact that you can get an app for just about anything. There are over 140,000 apps!  It’s almost as fun as shopping for shoes! I think I’m on page 3 of apps already. The ones that have proven most helpful without a doubt, have been all of the ones that we use for RVing – so convenient!

Here’s a list of some of my favorites:

4roadservice.com App: Helps you find services near your location without having to leave the driver’s seat. With a live data connection from 4roadservice.com’s website, you always have the most up to date information. Hurry on this one! You can get it for free while they are still testing the GPS portion of the app.

rv apps

RV Parks: A free app that searches a database in excess of 18,000 RV parks all while allowing you to read authentic user reviews and photos. You can upload your own reviews too!

RV Checklist: Get organized! This great app has multiple lists for tasks such as departing from a site, preparing for a trip and winterization. It even allows the user to add, delete, and modify tasks on the lists.

AllRecipes: If you enjoy cooking, this is a great app for you. AllRecipes gives you over 40,000 easy recipes that you can filter through by specifications like ingredients, dish type, cook time amounts, and more. With this great app, you can spruce up your RV mealtimes and be sure to keep it fun and interesting in your RV kitchen.

rv apps

Roadside America: Never miss a giant twine ball, crazy museum or roadside statue again. This road trip-ready app tells you what’s nearby with hilarious reports, maps, directions, hours, phone numbers, stories and tips. (read our previous blog about some crazy roadside attractions we visited!)

The Weather Channel: This practical app is great for planning your next move and helping you map out your RV road trips. TWC app links you to The Weather Channel, and gives you real-time updates of weather in any area.  It also includes a look at a live radar so you track a storm or any other in-climate weather you might be driving towards. You can also get an hourly look at the forecast or see a 10 day forecast for any area you plan on RVing to.

Hear Planet: Audio Guide to the World: Use HearPlanet to learn all about the places you go, as well as what’s around you every day. It’s a great way to learn about your surroundings and you’ll be amazed at what you find. Get the scoop on landmarks, historic sites and more – without taking your eyes off the sights.

rv appsGas Bag Pro: When you’re on the road as often as we are, being able to locate the cheapest gas can make a huge difference in our bottom line travel budget. There are several apps available for tracking gas prices, and we’re partial to this one because it also has a built-in mileage log.

________________________________________________________________

Given the fact that I just got my new Iphone a few weeks ago, I’m sure I’m missing out on a few great RVing apps – I’d love to hear about some of your favorites!  Our customers at Safford RV are always sharing new ideas with us too, so I’ll post more apps as I hear about them.

Oh….and I have to admit that I had a little conversation with Siri the other day. It went something like this:

me: “Siri, Where is the best place to go to buy an RV ?”

siri: “Okay, you want me to find the best place for you to buy an RV? That would be Safford RV, in Thornburg, Virginia.  Would you like the address?”

me: “Yes, please.”

siri: “Alright, the address for Safford RV is 6101 Mallard Road in Thornburg, Virginia.  It is located off of I-95 at exit 118.”

me: “Thank you, Siri.”

siri: “Your welcome, Maria. Is there anything else?”

me: “No, Siri….that’s it.”

siri: “Good bye”

I think I’m warming up to her. :)

SAFFORD RV   Toll-Free: (800) 719-3507   Local: 540-735-1100

